Chet Baker Quartet – Chet Baker in Paris, Vol 2 – Barclay – 1956


Chet Baker Quartet – Chet Baker in Paris, Vol 2 – Barclay – 1956


Recording: October 1955 in Paris at Studio Pathé-Magellan.
Original LP issue: Barclay 84.017.

On October 24th only Jimmy Bond was still with Chet : Peter littman had returned to America, and his seat was now accupied by Nils-Bertil ‘Bert’ Dahlander, a Swedish drummer who’d accompanied Lars Gullin. At the Keyboard was an almost-unknown pianist named Gérard Gustin who’d just been signed to a contract by Eddie Barclay. Given the context, they were obliged to fall back on standards. Chet knew how to play these better than anyone. He chose eight : ‘These Foolish Things’, wich stayed in his quartet’s répertoire for a while ; five others, wich the trumpeter performs here for the first time – ‘There’s a Small  Hotel, Autumn In New York, Summertime, You Go To My Head, Tenderly – and two –  I’ll Remember April and Lover Man – that he’d done less than tend ays earlier together with Lars Gullin and Dick Twardzik, whose disappearance was still something Chet refused to accept. Given this state of affairs, the whole session exudes a kind of sadness that’s impossible to put down, whatever the choice of tune or tempo.

Never before had Chet been as totally moving as he is throughout ‘You Go To My Head’.
Text – Alain Tercinet



Autumn in New York:

I’ll Remember April:




Chet Baker (Trumpet)
Gerard Gustin (Piano)
Jimmy Bond (Bass)
Bert Dalhander (Drums)


Side A

  • Summertime  4’16
  • You Go To My Head  5’54
  • Tenderly  6’39
  • Lover Man  4’52

Side B

  • Small Hotel  3’48
  • I’ll Remember April  5’51
  • These Foolish Things  4’41
  • Autumn In New York  7’06


  • Re-mastered from the original mono master tapes.
  • 180 gr vinyl pressed by Garcia 1 Co in France using the Metal Mothers from Pallas.
  • Facsimile reissue using the original photo from Jean-Pierre Leloir.
  • Double insert using an original photo by JP Leloir from the session.
  • Each record has been visually checked to prevent defects.
SKU: SR04/1-UK Category: Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Additional information

Weight 350 g
Dimensions 30 × 30 × 2 cm


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Chet Baker Quartet – Chet Baker in Paris, Vol 2 – Barclay – 1956”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *