Chet Baker Quartet – Chet Baker in Paris, Vol 1 – Barclay – 1955


Chet Baker Quartet – Chet Baker in Paris, Vol 1 – Barclay – 1955


Recording : October 11th, 1955 – Pathé-Magellan Studio, Paris.
Original LP issue: Barclay 84.009.

This session, recorded at Studio Pathé-Magellan October 11 and 14, 1955 in Paris, is the first of three recordings released for the Barclay label between 1955 and 1956.

For his first recording-date in Paris Chet decided to tackle Bob Zieff’s compositions, the same ones that Dick Twardzik had picked up in a hurry at the Alvin Hotel on his way to board the liner Ile-de-France. Violonist Dick Wetmore had just recorded the eight tunes, and Bob Zieff had had just enough time to revise the arrangements. Chet neither a champion sight-reader nor a big fan of rehearsals, hadn’t yet played them in front of an audience. From that first French session only the reel referred to as a ‘production tape’ remains.

This ‘complete Bob Zieff’ gives an impression of unity that wellmatches the suite concept intended by the composer; as for “The Girl From Greenland”, its role comes as a codicil. The record of Chet’s quartet with Twardzik has now appeared in Ben Ratliff’s book “Jazz, a Critic’s Guide to The 100 Most Important Recordings” (The New York Times Essential Library); it’s a fitting mention for an album that was long-unrecognised in the the United States…




Sad Walk:

Piece Caprice:



Chet Baker (Trumpet)
Dick Twardzik (Piano)
Jimmy Bond (Bass)
Peter Littman (Drums)


Side A

  • Rondette 2’10
  • Piece Caprice 5’10
  • Mid-Forte 3’07
  • Research 4’59
  • Pomp 4’41

Side B

  • Sad Walk 4’14
  • Just Duo 4’12
  • The Girl From Greenland 5’14
  • Brash 5’56


  • Re-mastered from the original mono master tapes.
  • 180 gr vinyl pressed by Optimal in Germany using the Metal Mothers from Pallas.
  • Facsimile reissue using the original photo by Jean-Pierre Leloir.
  • Double insert using an original photo by JP Leloir from the session.
  • Each record has been visually checked to prevent defects.
SKU: SR01/1-UK Category: Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Additional information

Weight 350 g
Dimensions 30 × 30 × 2 cm


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Chet Baker Quartet – Chet Baker in Paris, Vol 1 – Barclay – 1955”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *